Cumberland High School logo

Cumberland High School

Cumberland High School

Excellence in Education

Telephone02 9871 7718

Technological and applied studies

Students in Year 7 to 8 will study a range of mandatory subjects over two years. These topics include: Agriculture and Food Technologies, Digital Technologies, Engineered Systems and Material Technologies.

Students from Years 9 to 12 can select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

In TAS, students develop knowledge, understanding and skills through a design and production process using a range of tools, materials and techniques in theory and practical lessons.

The continuum of technology learning is:

  • mandated from Kindergarten to Year 8 through Science and Technology K-6 and Technology Mandatory Years 7-8 syllabuses
  • based on students becoming increasingly sophisticated in their ability to apply knowledge, skills and understanding to design and produce solutions
  • optional for student specialisation in high school through a range of syllabuses addressing particular technologies and aspects of design.

Available courses include:

  • Design and Technology 7-10
  • Food Technology 7-10
  • Graphics Technology 7-10
  • Technology Mandatory Stage 4
  • Industrial Technology - Engineering Stage 5
  • Industrial Technology - Electronics Stage 5
  • Industrial Technology - Timber Stage 5 and 6
  • Design and Technology Stage 5 and 6
  • Graphics Technology Stage 5 and 6
  • Food Technology Stage 5 and 6
  • Industrial Technology Stage 6
  • Information Processes and Technology Stage 6
  • Software Design and Development Stage 6
  • Hospitality Stage